top of page

Rural Alaska Honors Institute

In the words of the iconic singer, Kelly Clarkson, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” This is what comes to mind when I think of the graduating class of 2019 from RAHI (Rural Alaska Honors Institute.) Thankfully, none of us died, and we are all stronger individuals with newfound study skills that would put any academic athlete to shame. The actual theme for this year was “It won’t get easier, but you’ll get stronger.” which basically means the same thing. I didn’t want to go to RAHI. My parents forced me to go. This has been a common theme for many of the other students here at RAHI. I delayed telling my parents that I was accepted because I was hoping they would forget. They didn’t and two weeks later after receiving my official acceptance letter, I was on a plane to Fairbanks Alaska.

Week 1

While packing, I was told Fairbanks would be hot and miserable so of course I only packed shorts. As I stepped off the plane, I was greeted with rain. A few other students were collected at the airport in a UAF (University of Alaska Fairbanks) van and we awkwardly rode to the dorms, our home for the next six weeks. I didn’t know what to expect but was very pleasantly surprised when we were told of a fully stocked kitchen, filled to the brim with food for the students. While exploring all the cupboards, we were bombarded with layers and layers of Spam. A staple in the smaller Alaskan villages. While I don’t eat it, I appreciated their dedication to making us feel as at home as possible. In the first few days, we were put into family groups. I thought I knew “get to know you games” but this was on another level. One thing that they emphasize at RAHI is getting to know the other students. This was very apparent as we played what seemed like HOURS of icebreakers. Aside from meeting the other students, it was time to start our classes. I had English 111, Intro To Business, Study Skills, Library Science, and Yoga. Overall, a fulfilling and exhausting schedule to complete in only six weeks.

Week 2

Week two of classes was our first full week of class, Monday to Friday. I didn’t know you could fit a month into one week, but it sure felt like it as the week dragged by. Every day the same thought plagued my mind as well as everyone else's at RAHI. “Why am I doing school in the summer?” By Friday we were all exhausted and ready for a break. That break never came as the next day we all went on a nine-mile hike along the Angel Rocks Trail. The hike started with the perfect cloudy weather and once we reached the peak, the sun peeked through, giving us a stunning view of the rolling hills and soft mountains. You would think that the downhill part of the hike would be easiest, but the steep declines were littered in loose pebbles and mud, threatening to twist an ankle at any corner. Once down the mountain, there were still four miles remaining through a marsh. About halfway through the muddy bug-haven, the clouds split with thunder and the rain began. We ran the rest of the trail leaping over, through, and into puddles. At the end of the hike, we were greeted by the Chena Hot Springs. A natural hot spring where we could collapse into. That night, I didn’t mind the Fairbanks midnight sun as I fell asleep as soon as I hit my hard dorm-room bed.

Week 3

Contrary to the week before, now that everyone had become accustomed to our RAHI schedule, week three flew by and before we knew it, it was time for another weekend excursion. Canoeing! A two-hour canoe trip down the tepid Chena River was a nice way to relax and watch the shore go by. Or at least it would have been relaxing if my canoeing buddy and I weren’t racing to get to the finish first. After a while and with a solid lead, my arms couldn’t take it anymore and we were forced to enjoy the relaxing river ride. By the end, I was surprised we hadn’t flipped as memories of my last time canoeing in Sweden ended in near-hypothermia and losing my favorite Patagonia pullover.

Week 4

Week four was the much-dreaded midterms week. Everyone had at least a test of some kind and we were all frazzled. This was the time I was most thankful for my yoga class. I would stomp all the way over to the Student Rec Center, ready to pull my hair out from stress and frustration, only to have it all melt away with each downward dog and tree pose. The two other elective classes were useful as well, I’m sure. Karate was an outlet for those who wanted to punch their computers but instead punched the air. Native Dance was taking tension and twisting it into historic art. The weekend after mid-terms was designed for us to have the best possible weekend, and the RAHI staff nailed this. Camp Bingle was, and I quote, “the best camp ever.” Sure we each had our own entourage of mosquitoes, noseeums, white socks, and every other biting insect in Alaska, but it was worth it. During the weekend, we participated in the “Fun-Olympics.” A competition between all of the family groups. My family group, The Donnalulus From RAHIii took first after enduring bruises and injuries, all for the glory of winning. My favorite competition was the canoe race, except we weren't allowed paddles. I’ve never laughed more while enduring so much pain from kneeling in a sandy, water-filled canoe and ramming my arms against the sides, trying to propel us forward. Other games included a hilariously disgusting chubby bunny competition, an intense relay race, an egg toss and so much more. On the last day, each family had to perform a skit. I was amazed at the creativity of each teams performance and loved them all. The hour drive back from Bingle was spent counting bug bites on our legs, recounting the epic win our team took, comparing bruises, and snoring.

The Donnalulus hard at work.
All RAHI family teams

Week 5

I should probably mention one of my least favorite parts about RAHI but by far the most beneficial. That would be study time. Every night, Sunday to Thursday, we have mandatory study time from 7:00-9:00. During this time we are only allowed to work on homework and academic-related projects. I’ve never been great with getting my homework done, but almost every night I have time to spare once I’ve finished my work. This time is one of the biggest factors for my 4.0 at RAHI. The weekend after week five was non-stop. Friday night was the annual RAHI dance. We were going to have it in a different building on campus to have space for all of the activities, but because of the ongoing forest fires around Fairbanks and the smoke rolling in and out, we had to surrender the building to the use of the volunteer firemen and instead have our dance in the basement of the dorms. A night of karaoke, a little bit of dancing, and snacks went by quickly. Saturday we woke up nice and early to sit in the vans for two hours on our way to Denali Rafting. We stopped for a picnic lunch along the way which was a nice opportunity to stretch our legs and escape the humid vans. By two o’clock, we were at the rafting center. Everyone had to put on enormous, rubber drysuits that only magnified the heat from the sun overhead. Next, we took a short bus ride to our rafts, grouped off and spent 2 hours bouncing through class 3 and 4 rapids. We were all understandably sad to see the shore with the busses waiting to pick us up on the last curve of the river. My group especially was sad to say goodbye to our extremely cute and charismatic tour guide with a sparkling smile. After rafting, we had pizza dinner at Denali National Park and happily snoozed on the drive home. Sunday was an optional chance to go and volunteer at Calypso Farms. I jumped at the opportunity to see farm animals and didn’t mind the fact that this would be manual labor. We were split into two groups at the farm. My group got to move a chicken coop, re-locate pigs, milk a goat, and do a few more fun farm chores for the hours leading up till lunch. Group two got to wheelbarrow manure during that time. After lunch we learned about bees, the events they hold on-site, and more about how the farm worked in general then headed back home to our dorms for the night.

Week 6

A quick week of classes with a break on Thursday for the Fourth of July! The whole group made it out to a picnic area next to the Chena River where we had grilled burgers, veggie burgers, and portabella mushrooms. (One thing I’ve loved about RAHI is their eagerness to cater to different diets. There are a few vegetarians and vegans here and we greatly appreciate the effort they put in to make sure we are fed.) After eating, a group started to play NYO (Native Youth Olympics) games. It soon escalated to yoga poses, handstands, and beginners acrobatics. We were once again scuffed up and bruised, but having a good time nonetheless. The rest of the weekend was dedicated solely to studying and I'm sure no one wants to hear about that.

Final Days

Monday and Tuesday were dedicated to final tests and presentations. I had my business presentation and the other classes all had their own types of finals. Then, as suddenly as they had begun, RAHI classes were over. Now, all that is left for us is our graduation, and then on Friday, after packing and deep cleaning our dorm building, we’ll say goodbye. In just six weeks we've become a part of something bigger. These students from villages and towns can use this education to bring better opportunities to their homes and use this secondary education head start to prepare for a life of knowledge and making our names known.

The Donnalulus are quite the fashionable crew.

Honorable Mention-

Denise Wartes, the woman behind it all has worked tirelessly for decades to provide funding for each of us to be able to attend RAHI. This year, 2019, was her last year as the RAHI manager but we all know that although she is retiring, she will still be working relentlessly to ensure more students can come to this program in years to come. On behalf of all RAHI students, we thank you, Denise, for your dedication to Alaskan education.

Unsure Future for Alaskans-

As Alaskan education is under strain and the University of Alaska system will be given significantly less funding, there is the possibility of many campuses across the state being dissolved. In this difficult time of now knowing if our Alaska campuses will be operational or if we will receive the scholarships we've worked towards for our entire high school careers, the RAHI graduates have at least been given a stepping stone to boost us through this and give us even the slightest head-start in college. Many others are not so lucky. All I can say is that I am incredibly grateful to have had this opportunity.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page